Everest Marathon 2019: Sun Maya Buda won the women’s title

Ace Hiking > Blog > Everest Marathon 2019: Sun Maya Buda won the women’s title
Everest Marathon

Everest Marathon 2019 has been held on May 29 in the Everest region on the occasion of anniversary of Mount Everest conquest  on May 29, Everest Day.

Suman Kulung claimed the titles of the Tenzing-Hillary Everest Marathon – 2019. Kulung, 28 years old of Gudel, Solukhumbu, clocked 3 hours 47 minutes 16 seconds to complete the distance of 42 km.

The second and third positions were taken by Kapildev Buda and Ram Kumar Rajbhandari. Buda completed the race in 3 hours 56 minutes and Rajbhandari took 3 hours 58 minutes.

Kulung bagged a cash purse of Rs 200,000 while Buda and Rajbhandari took home Rs 100,000 and 75,000 respectively.

Similarly, Sun Maya Buda has won the 2019 Tenzing Hillary Everest Marathon in the women’s section. She completed the 42 km race in 5 hours 3 minutes 4 seconds.

Rojina Bhandari and Humi Budha Magar saved the second and third position. Bhandari finished in 5 hours 24 minutes 12 seconds and Budha Magar took 5 hours 29 minutes 15 seconds. The top three finishers bagged purse of Rs 100,000, Rs 75,000 and Rs 50,000 respectively.

Total 223 runners participated in the 17th Tenzing Hillary Everest Marathon, organized on the occasion of historical ascent of Mt Everest by Late Tenzing Norgay Sherpa and Sir Edmund Hillary on May 29, 1953. Runners participated from different countries including Nepal in the Everest Marathon – 2019.

Toughest and the Highest Everest Marathon

Tenzing Norgay Sherpa and Edmund Hillary conquered Everest on May 29 (Everest Day), 1953 for the first time. The marathon is rated as one of the toughest and the highest altitude long distance race starts from the Everest Base Camp (5,360 meters) and ends at Namche Bazar (3,450 meters), 42 km. There are three different distance wise marathon; Everest Full Marathon 42 km, Everest Half Marathon 21 km, and Everest Extreme Ultra Marathon 60 km.